The newly elected councillors for the wards in Merton have been announced.

Merton Council will still be under the control of the Labour Party.

A total of 57 seats were contested in Merton.

Colliers Wood, Cricket Green, Figge’s Marsh, Graveney, Lavender Fields, Longthornton, Pollards Hill, Ravensbury and St Helier, all saw Labour successes.

The Liberal Democrats came in second while gaining 17 seats which was 26 per cent of the votes.

Merton’s elected councillors and the wards they represent are listed below:

Abbey: Two Liberal Democrat candidates John Mattew Braithwaite and Klaar Dresselasers and Mike Brunt from Labour was elected.

Cannon Hill: Two Conservative candidates, Nicholas Martin and Michael Charles Joseph Paterson and Jenifer Ann Gould from Liberal Democrats were elected.

Colliers Wood: Three Labour candidates, Laxmi Attawar, Caroline Cooper Marbiah, Stuart Neaverson were elected.

Cricket Green: Three Labour candidates, Micheal Kevin Butcher, Usaama Kaweesa and Gill Manly were elected.

Figge’s Marsh: Three Labour candidates, Natasha Dawn Irons, Daniel Stefan Johnston and Agatha Mary Akyigyina were elected.

Graveney: Three Labour candidates, Sheri Ann Bhim, Billy Hayes and Linda Kirby were elected.

Hillside: Susan Elizabeth Hicks from Liberal Democrat and Dan Holden from Conservatives were elected.

Lavender Fields: Three Labour candidates, Billy Christie, Edith Macauley and Slawek Szczepanski were elected.

Longthornton: Three Labour candidates, Brenda Lorraine Fraser, Ross Benjamin Garrod, Marsie Vanesser Skeete were elected.

Merton Park: Two Merton Park Independent Residents, Edward William Foley and Stephen Mercer were elected.

Pollards Hill: Three Labour candidates, Joan Henry, Aidan Mundy, Martin Whelton were elected.

Ravensbury: Three Labour candidates, Stephen Alambritis, Caroline Charles and Peter McCabe were elected.

Raynes Park: Three Liberal Democrat candidates, Chessie Flack, Matthew James Willis and Victoria Jane Wilson were elected.

St Helier: Three Labour Party candidates, Helena Dollimore, Andrew Judge and Dennis Pearce were elected.

Village: Three Conservative Party candidates, Max Daniel Austin, Thomas James Barlow, Andrew Geoffrey Elliot Howard were elected.

Wandle: Kristen Galea from Liberal Democrats and Eleanor Lesley Stringer from Labour was elected.

West Barnes: Three Liberal Democrat candidates, Hina Bokhari, John Michael Oliver and Robert Page were elected.

Wimbledon Park: Three Liberal Democrat candidates, Samantha MacArthur, Tony Reiss and Jil Hall were elected.

Wimbledon Town and Dundonald: Three Liberal Democrat candidates, Anthony John Fairclough, Paul Christopher Kohler and Simon McGrath were elected.

Have you got a story for us? You can contact us here.

Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to keep up with all the latest news.

Sign up to our newsletters to get updates sent straight to your inbox.