MERTON Council will still be under the control of Labour after the local 2022 elections. 

A total of 57 seats were contested in Merton.

Colliers Wood, Cricket Green, Figge’s Marsh, Graveney, Lavender Fields, Longthornton, Pollards Hill, Ravensbury and St Helier, all saw Labour successes.

The Liberal Democrats came in second while gaining 17 seats which was 26 per cent of the votes.

Conservatives only won six seats which was 25 per cent of the votes.

Abbey and Wandle wards have been split between the Liberal Democrats and Labour.

Cannon Hill and Hillside wards were also split between Conservatives and Liberal Democrats.

Merton Council announced on Twitter that the Lower Morden ward requires a third recount.

This will take place at 2pm today (May 6).

Here is the breakdown of results in Merton:

Abbey: Labour and Liberal Democrats

Cannon Hill: Liberal Democrats and Conservatives

Colliers Wood: Labour

Cricket Green: Labour

Figge’s Marsh: Labour

Graveney: Labour

Hillside: Liberal Democrats and Conservatives

Lavender Fields: Labour

Longthornton: Labour

Merton Park: Merton Park Independent Residents

Pollards Hill: Labour

Raynes Park: Liberal Democrats

St Helier: Labour

Village: Conservatives

Wandle: Liberal Democrats and Labour

West Barnes: Liberal Democrats

Wimbledon Park: Liberal Democrats

Wimbledon Town and Dundonald: Liberal Democrats

Have you got a story for us? You can contact us here.

Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram to keep up with all the latest news.

Sign up to our newsletters to get updates sent straight to your inbox.