The opposition has announced its new shadow cabinet as it seeks to recover from a disappointing election.

Councillor Oonagh Moulton remains as leader of the Merton Conservatives, with James Holmes as her deputy and member for education.

Councillors Linda Taylor will be responsible for young people, Suzanne Grocott for finance, and David Williams for community engagement.

David Simpson takes on community safety and enforcement, Janice Howard will be responsible for culture, leisure and housing, and John Bowcott for planning and regulation.

Additionally, Gilli Lewis-Lavender has health and older people, David Dean will look after the environment portfolio and Stephen Crowe will join the shadow cabinet as member for transport and parking.

Councillor Oonagh Moulton said: “I am pleased to announce a new shadow cabinet which reflects the experience and wide ranging skills of our Conservative group on Merton Council.

“As well as welcoming those colleagues who are joining the shadow cabinet for the first time, I would also like to congratulate Coun James Holmes on his election as deputy leader of Merton Conservative group.

“Together we will be working hard along with all Conservative councillors to hold the new Labour administration to account on behalf of residents right across the borough.”