Championship winners Welsh slash 12 from squad

First published in Sport by

London Welsh head coach Lyn Jones has revealed his ruthless side by releasing 12 players from the squad that lifted the Championship title last month.

Tom French, Liam Gibson, Will Hurrell, Gary Johnson, Vili Ma’asi, Saul Nelson, Shawn Pittman, Mike Powell, Guillermo Roan, Ben Russell, Ben Stevenson and Edd Thrower have all been cut adrift and will be playing elsewhere next season.

“Rugby is the quintessential team game and because of the physical demands every club needs a squad of dedicated team players who can step up to the plate at any time,” said London Welsh managing director John Taylor.

“We are particularly grateful to those who could not always hold down a place in the starting XV for their professionalism throughout the season, and we wish them well as they move on to pursue their careers elsewhere or go into retirement.

"They will always be a part of the London Welsh family.”

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree